A look at some of the most recognizable winners of all time

Over its 120-year history, the Nobel Peace Prize has celebrated the efforts of 109 individuals and 28 organizations. The tendency to reward the standard bearers of peace and harmony began in 1901, in addition to other laurels awarded in the fields of physiology or medicine, chemistry, physics, literature and economics, which were added later. As journalists Maria Ressa and Dmitry Muratov won the 2021 Nobel Peace Prize, here are some of the most recognizable laureates in history.

Nelson Mandela

Nicknamed “Madiba” or the Father of South Africa, Nelson Mandela chose the path of peace and non-violence against an apartheid regime after being inspired by the principles of Mahatma Gandhi. He shared the 1993 Peace Prize with Frederik Willem de Klerk for the peaceful end of the apartheid regime and for laying the foundations for a new democratic South Africa. Mandela was South Africa’s first black president and rose to that post after spending 18 years on the infamous prison island of Robben Island for his anti-racism resistance efforts.

Dalai Lama

Spiritual leader Dalai Lama, originally named Tenzin Gyatso, received the Peace Prize in 1989 for advocating peaceful solutions based on tolerance and mutual respect in order to preserve the historical and cultural heritage of his people. Born on July 6, 1935 in Taktser, Tibet, the Dalai Lama was in India when he won the laurel when he was exiled from his land for having spearheaded the nonviolent opposition to the occupation of Tibet by China.

Malala Yousafzai

A great defender of girls’ rights, Malala won the laurel in 2014 for the fight against the repression of children and young people and for the right of all children to education. She shared the award with Indian activist Kailash Satyarthi, known for her contribution to the well-being of children. Born in the Swat district of northwest Pakistan, she was shot dead by Taliban gunmen in 2012 while on a school bus, for speaking out against growing Taliban influence in the region. region to foreign media.

Barack Hussein Obama

Barack Obama, who served as the 44th President of the United States, won the Peace Prize in 2009 “for his extraordinary efforts to strengthen international diplomacy and people-to-people cooperation.” The Nobel Committee said Obama’s strong advocacy for human rights, democracy and disarmament helped him win the award.

Aung San Suu Kyi

The Nobel Laureate has become a global figure after a military coup earlier in February during her reign in Myanmar. However, she carries a global portfolio as she won the Peace Prize in 1991 “for her nonviolent struggle for democracy and human rights”. the daughter of the legendary leader of the liberation movement Aung San.

Image: Twitter / @ NobelPrize / AP