CAA will not be implemented in Kerala: Pinarayi Vijayan

Thiruvananthapuram: Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan on Thursday claimed that his government would not implement the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA).

Speaking at a reception to mark the conclusion of his government’s first anniversary celebrations here, he said: “The government has a clear position on the Citizenship Amendment Act (CAA). It will continue.

The Chief Minister said that “our country is working on the principle of secularism as mentioned in the Constitution of India. Nowadays, attempts are made to destroy secularism. A certain group of people are very concerned about this. In a recent incident, a group of people were determining citizenship based on religion. The Kerala government has taken a strong stance against this incident.

He added, “Several investigations are being carried out in different parts of the country to create communal tension among people. But here, a survey was carried out to identify the poorest families in our society. Other measures will be taken as part of this investigation.

During his speech at the LDF government’s first anniversary celebrations, Kerala Chief Minister Pinarayi Vijayan reiterated that the state will not implement the Citizenship (Amendment) Act. “The state government has taken a strong stance that citizenship will not be determined on the basis of religion,” Vijayan added.

Last month, Union Home Minister Amit Shah said in Siliguri, West Bengal that the law would be implemented once the COVID-19 pandemic was over. “We will implement the Citizenship (Amendment) Act (CAA) on the ground as soon as the wave of COVID-19 is over,” Union Home Minister Amit Shah said in the city. from Siliguri, West Bengal.

The Citizenship (Amendment) Act 2019 which was passed by the Indian Parliament on December 11, 2019, but is yet to be implemented, aims to grant citizenship to members of the Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian. who have been persecuted in Afghanistan, Bangladesh and Pakistan.

The CAA was notified on December 12, 2019 and entered into force on January 10, 2020. It aims to facilitate the granting of citizenship to migrants belonging to the Hindu, Sikh, Buddhist, Jain, Parsi and Christian communities of Afghanistan, the Bangladesh and Pakistan, who came to India on or before December 31, 2014.