Written notes: Cleveland High School principal named Tennessee Principal of the Year

Cleveland High School Principal Named Tennessee Principal of the Year by National Group of Principals

Autumn O’Bryan, principal of Cleveland High School, received the Tennessee Principal of the Year award from the National Association of High School Principals.

A middle or secondary school principal from each state receives the award for their contribution to the profession and for providing high quality learning opportunities to students.

“Ms. O’Bryan continues to represent schools in the city of Cleveland throughout the state of Tennessee. We are very proud of the work she continues to be recognized for this year and for the work she does each year. day at Cleveland High School. We are very happy that she is honored in this way and that she will represent us well nationally, “Cleveland City Schools Principal Russell Dyer said in a statement. Press.

O’Bryan finished 12 years as principal of Cleveland High School last year and previously worked at Hamilton County Schools and Lee University.

Three finalists will be chosen from among the state winners for the National Principal of the Year award in September.

Photo courtesy of Cleveland City Schools | Cleveland High School Principal Autumn O’Bryan received the 2021 Tennessee Principal of the Year award from the National Association of High School Principals

Hamilton County Schools Graduates Receive $ 116 Million in Scholarships, Achieve Hundreds of Certifications

This year, graduates of Hamilton County schools won $ 116 million in scholarships and will attend 171 colleges and universities.

The top three universities attended by 2021 graduates are Chattanooga State Community College / Tennessee College of Applied Technology, University of Tennessee at Chattanooga, and University of Tennessee at Knoxville.

Additionally, the class of 2021 achieved 216 industry certifications, while students in Grades 9 through 12 in Hamilton County schools achieved 1,143 certifications.

“In the midst of a global pandemic, the Class of 2021 has demonstrated a resilience that deserves to be celebrated,” System Superintendent Bryan Johnson said in a statement. “Our mission includes creating pathways to a bright future, and I am excited to see what these graduates will accomplish in the days to come.”

Four professors from the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga selected for alumni awards

University of Tennessee at Chattanooga professors Josh Hamblen, Kira Robison, Michael Thompson and Talia Welsh have been shortlisted for the 2021 Faculty Awards by the UT Alumni Association. The four professors work at the College of Arts and Sciences at UTC.

The selection for the awards comes from colleagues and alumni of the UT system.

The Alumni Outstanding Teacher Awards were presented to Hamblen, Associate Professor of the University of Chattanooga Foundation in the Department of Chemistry and Physics, and to Robinson, Associate Professor in the Department of History.

Thompson received the Alumni Public Service Award, which is accompanied by a cash prize of $ 1,000. He heads the history department and is an associate professor at the UC Foundation. Welsh, a UC Foundation professor in the Department of Philosophy and Religion, received the Distinguished Service Professor Award, which is accompanied by a cash award of $ 1,000 each year for three years.

Contact Anika Chaturvedi at [email protected] or 423-757-6592.